26. Pig and Whistle Hotel - 1890
The original hotel on this site was timber and iron, opened on in 1888. William Carter was then licensee. It was rebuilt in stone in 1890 by W H Newton.
The Barrier Miner reports favourably on the Pig & Whistle and a later licensee, J.M. Manus, on 22nd December, 1909:
At the Pig and Whistle Hotel, corner of Bromide and Cobalt streets, visitors can rely on securing good accommodation and civility.
Mr. J.M'Manus is the proprietor, and by stocking the best of spirits, and the coolest of beers, together with strict attention to the comfort of his customers, he has become very popular amongst a numerous clientele.
Audio transcript available.